Starting Scala

I’m starting a new job soon which is going to be entirely Scala programming. I’m trying to dig in a little bit and get started with a leg up. I’m going to outline my basic plan here and post updates as time goes on. I’ve done a tiny bit of Scala before when learning some about Spark. I’ve done some Java work in the past as well so the ecosystem is a little bit familiar. So I’m not coming in from nothing.

The place I’m going to be working uses Macs so getting off of Windows seems like the right way to get started. I had previously used Eclipse when working on JVM based languages. The last time I had used Eclipse though it seemed like more had changed than was the same as I remembered. So I’m going to take a different tack this time and try IntelliJ. So the overall development environment is going to be an Ubuntu VM and use IntlliJ on it.

I plan to start with Scala School to make sure I’ve got all the basics down. Once I feel I’ve got that put together I’ll try Scala Exercises for some more guided exercises. Then I’m going to do some of the Project Euler problems I had done in F# since I understand the problems and can focus on learning the idiomatic Scala way of doing things.

I figure this should get me up to speed on Scala pretty quickly. We’ll see how well it goes.

Leave a Reply

