Scoring Intern Puzzles

I recently got to score coding puzzle solutions submitted by a crop of students who wanted to be interns for my company. Overall, I scored six puzzles and gave two passing grades. These were applications generally submitted by rising Juniors and Seniors, so I had fairly modest expectations about the overall quality of the solutions they would be presenting. I wanted to see some basic object oriented design, usage of the proper data structures, and correctness in a couple edge cases. The issues with the failures varied, but the most egregious and common issue was a failure in understanding object orientation. The typical solution was a java file, with one class generally nothing but static methods and everything public.

This led me to two immediate thoughts: are these students horribly unprepared or am I expecting too much? I went and asked one of the engineers who had scored another batch of solutions about what he got. His batch was distinctly better, one even had unit tests, but there were still some significant duds. The conversation attracted two recent grads who took a look at some of the solutions, and also thought they weren’t that good; since they were closer experience-wise, I thought that their expectations would be more reasonable. I know that they are getting a computer science education not a software engineering education, and I had talked about this difference before, but they need some ability in computer programming to demonstrate their computer science skills.

I tried to think back to when I was in school and what I was like at that point. I know I didn’t have the best practices then, but I feel like I was ahead of where they were. I wish I still had some of the code I had written then to look back at and compare. I don’t think I was great at that point in my programming journey. But, I feel like I would have at least put together a class or two as part of the solution, even if they weren’t really needed,  just to show I could decompose the problem.

I suspect that since internships have become a significant need that students are pushing out applications and doing this puzzle is a hurdle to them doing yet another application but they don’t recognize how to optimize their solution to show off their skills. Each solution had some positive aspects, but were missing most of the aspects I wanted to see. To me this meant that the skills were being taught, since they had all picked up some of them, just not enough of them yet.

Leave a Reply

