Traveling Stories

Traveling has always made me introspective. When I was going to the West coast regularly for work, my wife knew she would get a rambling email from me that I wrote while in the plane. Some of them were sappy, some were crazy, some were a disjointed mess. But they were all those thoughts that came out when I was stuck there with nothing but those thoughts to keep me company.

Sure I’d read, listen to a podcast, or watch something but eventually the mind would wander to that place it wanted to go. Like a very slow form of meditation. Once my mind emptied of thoughts of the day or about where I was going, I achieved this zenlike state where answers to questions would just unfold like an origami crane.

The worst part is that the answers were always fleeting. There for a moment, gone the next without the chance to fully understand the epiphany. A deep insight into the universe that you know was there, but never get to appreciate.

This post started with one of those epiphanies I was on the train on the way to New York for the NE Scala Symposium and there was this moment of clarity about a communication struggle I had been having at work. For a moment, I had a vision of the creative action plan I had been looking for, then a PA announcement came on and the thought was gone. I hadn’t recorded the thought in any way but I know it was there right outside of Trenton.

On the ride home I managed to rekindle some of the thought, but it wasn’t the same deep insight that I had originally had. Initially, my work team had been proposing to adjust this existing framework to enable a new usage. But by rephrasing it as “replacing” the entire framework and building a brand new system everyone was immediately on board. By reframing the initial idea from being a change to a new thing it got everyone on board. I think this reasoning is twofold, it would mean we can roll out the change in smaller increments and we can go back without as much effort. It’s the same work and the same expected end state, but the reception was significantly different.

Leave a Reply

