Changing Stacks

I had an odd realization recently – the jobs that I changed stacks for seemed to be better than the jobs where I already knew the stack. I’m not sure if it’s a common experience or something that’s unique to my experiences.

I’ve got a few theories about why this might be the case for me. First, the jobs where I changed stacks appeared more engaging to me because there was more to learn. Second, the jobs where I changed stacks felt better because they used different hiring practices, where they looked for underlying talent and skills as opposed to specific stack-related experiences. Third, relating to the second point, the diverse points of view brought together because so many colleagues were also changing stacks creates a better workplace. Fourth, the people that are willing to change stacks are the kind of people who are more open to learning going forward. Lastly, the jobs where I changed stacks happened to be better by pure chance due to small sample sizes. None of these theories is particularly provable. Several of them could be true and working together. They could all be false and it could be something completely different.

I know that from talking to some of my coworkers that they all came into their current jobs without particular experience in the Scala/Play Framework/MongoDB stack as well, although most of them came from a much more similar Java stack rather than the C# stack I came from most recently, or any of the other stacks I worked with in the past. They mentioned that we have issues recruiting in our DC office because of the pay differentials for cleared work in the area;  there are lots of places you can go and get a comfortable government contracting job and not really stretch yourself and grow. There has also been some discussion about how the stack effects our ability to recruit since it’s not as common as other stacks, and some candidates have expressed reservations since the stack isn’t really growing in popularity. There was a lot of information in the most recent Stack Overflow Developer Survey that corroborates the idea that the Scala is shrinking, but it says it is shrinking in relative of share of all votes. In absolute terms the change is less clear.

I guess that I’ve enjoyed the stack changes I’ve made. Only once did I set out with an intention of changing stacks as part of a job change. Then I wasn’t looking to go to anywhere particular, but I was looking to move away from ColdFusion since it didn’t really mesh with how I like to do development. I don’t have any intention to make another change any time soon, but I’ll definitely consider another stack change when I do just because it opens up a wider variety of options and seems to have worked out for me in the past.

Leave a Reply

